filling an empty vessel

Wife, Mother & Grandmother

so I was reading..Nehemiah March 26, 2010

Filed under: Bible — haven4nine @ 12:46 pm

I just finished reading the book of Nehemiah.  A good book to read if you want to know about leadership.  Nehemiah was a leader in every sense of the word.  After reading through this book, I realized good leadership starts with a passion, a call that only God can give to someone.  But it can’t be just a passion or call, there has to be action, steps taken toward the passion you have in your heart to do something.  Nehemiah was saddened by the devastation of his homeland, so saddened that he left a place of comfort for a place of hardship.  He came across many roadblocks along the way because there were many against him, many that did not like what he was doing or even understand what he was doing but his passion and call were deep enough that he continued to persevere through the hardships. 

I am challenged by the call of Nehemiah, the passion, his willingness to lead.  I need to be passionate about the things God has called me to do.  Nehemiah was ONE man who followed God’s call and brought change and restoration to a whole group of people.  We can do that too.. if we listen for His call and wake up to the passion He has placed in our hearts to serve Him.

In the last chapter of Nehemiah three times he stated, “remeber me, O my God”;
“Remember me, O my God concerning this, and do not wipe out my good deeds that I have done for the house of my God, and for it’s services!” Neh. 13:14NKJV.  “Remember me, O my God, concerning this also, and spare me according to the greatness of your mercy.” Neh. 13:22NKJV.  And finally, “Remember me, O my God, for good!” Neh.13:31NKJV.

If you are missing your passion & your leadership abilities seem weak.. read thru Nehemiah and be encouraged that if ONE man can make changes from a stirring in his heart, so can you in your family.  What passion has God placed on your heart?   

Lord,  Remember me as I serve, grant me your mercy and help me to do good all the days of my life.  That my life might be a reflection, a reminder of You.

 

One Response to “so I was reading..Nehemiah”

  1. i really love how two people can read the same book, and get such different things out of it, or even the same person reads the same book at different times and gets totally different things. God’s word is so awesome. i’ve been doing some intensive study of exodus and it’s been amazing, even though i’ve read this book a million times already i’m learning tons of new stuff.


Leave a Reply

